Here Are The Winners Of The 2018 Whiting Awards

This year's recipients include Esmé Wang, Patty Yumi Cottrell, Tommy Pico, and Weike Wang.

The Whiting Awards are given every year (since 1985) to 10 emerging writers, who each receive $50,000.

Previous recipients include Tracy K. Smith (2005), Daniel Alarcón (2004), and Colson Whitehead (2000).

This year's winners were revealed at a ceremony March 21 following a keynote speech by Toni Morrison. And here they are:

Patty Yumi Cottrell, for Fiction

Brontez Purnell, for Fiction

Weike Wang, for Fiction

Esmé Weijun Wang, for Nonfiction

Anne Boyer, for Poetry and Nonfiction

Rickey Laurentiis, for Poetry

Tommy Pico, for Poetry

Nathan Alan Davis, for Drama

Hansol Jung, for Drama

Antoinette Nwandu, for Drama

Congratulations to all! Here is a full list of Whiting Award winners.

Skip to footer