The 19 Most Anti-LGBT Members Of Congress, According To Pro-LGBT Group

Including one Democrat. A BuzzFeed News exclusive report.

WASHINGTON — The nation's largest LGBT advocacy organization has a new list of the 19 "most anti-equality" members of Congress.

The Human Rights Campaign says to be included in its first ever "Hall of Shame," a lawmaker had to vote for or cosponsor legislation that "would enshrine discrimination into our nation's body of laws and our Constitution." HRC said it also reviewed lawmakers' public statements on LGBT issues.

Of the 14 House members and five senators listed, North Carolina Rep. Mike McIntyre is the only Democrat. HRC stated that McIntyre made the list because he cosponsored the Federal Marriage Amendment, which aimed to define marriage in the U.S. Constitution as a union between one man and one woman, and "if there is a pro-equality vote opportunity, McIntyre can usually be counted on to vote no."

In addition, all but one lawmaker on the list — outgoing Minnesota Rep. Michele Bachmann — are men.

"If you want to understand why LGBT equality has hit a roadblock in Congress, you don't need to look any further than these leaders of anti-LGBT obstruction and animus," said David Stacy, HRC's government affairs director. "These members go out of their way to oppose any step toward equal protection under the law or to protect LGBT Americans from violence, discrimination and harassment. They proactively work to undermine existing legal protections and promote anti-LGBT discrimination."

Other lawmakers who made the list include Andy Harris, Louie Gohmert, Tim Huelskamp, Steve King, Ted Cruz, and Mike Lee.

HRC will release its full scorecard for the 113th Congress on Thursday.

Here's the full list of Human Rights Campaign's "Hall of Shame":


Michele Bachman (R-MN)

Louie Gohmert (R-TX)

Andy Harris (R-MD)

Tim Huelskamp (R-KS)

Jim Jordan (R-OH)

Walter Jones (R-NC)

Mike Kelly (R- PA)

Steve King (R-IA)

Doug LaMalfa (R-CA)

Mike McIntyre (D-NC)

Randy Neugebauer (R-TX)

Steve Pearce (R-NM)

Tim Walberg (R-MI)

Randy Weber (R-TX)


Ted Cruz (R-TX)

Michael Enzi (R-WY)

James Inhofe (R-OK)

Mike Lee (R-UT)

Jeff Sessions (R-AL)

Skip to footer