Obama Is Honoring A Bunch Of Your Favorite Celebs With The Presidential Medal Of Freedom

You get a medal! You get a medal! Everybody gets a medal!

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest civilian honor in the US and is awarded annually to people who've made significant contributions to the country.

On Wednesday, the White House announced the names of the 21 people President Barack Obama has decided to honor with his last round of medals.

It's a LONG list.

"From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way," Obama said in a statement.

Here's who will be honored at the Nov. 22 ceremony at the White House:

1. TV host and LGBT activist Ellen DeGeneres

2. Former NBA star and social justice advocate Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

3. Actor Robert De Niro

4. Philanthropists Bill and Melinda Gates

5. Singer and entertainment icon Diana Ross

6. Actor (and America's dad) Tom Hanks

7. The Boss, Bruce Springsteen

8. Actress Cicely Tyson

9. NBA legend Michael Jordan

10. Actor and director Robert Redford

11. Saturday Night Live creator and producer Lorne Michaels

12. Architect Frank Gehry

13. Baseball broadcaster Vin Scully

The president is also honoring a few other incredible people, whose names you might not be as familiar with. They include:

14. Physicist and scientific advisor Richard Garwin

15. Native American community leader Elouise Cobell

16. Artist and the designer of the national Vietnam Veterans Memorial Maya Lin

17. Former NASA mathematician and computer scientist Margaret H. Hamilton

18. Computer programmer Rear Admiral Grace Hopper

19. Lawyer and former FCC chairman Newt Minow

20. And President of Miami Dade College Eduardo Padrón

Congrats, all!

Skip to footer