BuzzFeed News

Reporting To You

news

Get Caught With Pot? D.C. Newspaper Will Pay Your Fine

While supplies last.

Posted on July 16, 2014, at 5:09 p.m. ET

Washington City Paper has offered to pay the $25 fine for the first five people stopped under D.C.'s new marijuana law, which goes in effect at midnight Thursday.

The D.C. newspaper is eager to see how the Metropolitan Police Department will be enforcing the law, so they've offered to pay the $25 fine for the first five people they hear from who have received citations. There are some rules. You must send the paper a photo of the citation and the backstory of how it all unfolded. Sounds fair, right?The new law in Washington D.C. decriminalizes possession of less than an ounce of marijuana for personal use. (Although smoking or selling weed is still illegal.) Previously the penalty for possession was $1,000 and up to six months in prison.
David McNew / Getty Images News

The D.C. newspaper is eager to see how the Metropolitan Police Department will be enforcing the law, so they've offered to pay the $25 fine for the first five people they hear from who have received citations.

There are some rules. You must send the paper a photo of the citation and the backstory of how it all unfolded. Sounds fair, right?

The new law in Washington D.C. decriminalizes possession of less than an ounce of marijuana for personal use. (Although smoking or selling weed is still illegal.) Previously the penalty for possession was $1,000 and up to six months in prison.

Still don't believe us? Check out what the City Paper wrote on their website:

At Washington City Paper, we think the new law is a big improvement: For one, the vast majority of people arrested for possession of marijuana in D.C. are black, and the racial disparity in pot arrests is getting worse. For another, why should the other Washington be more progressive than we are? But we're also curious to see how it'll be enforced. So we'll make an offer to the large, large numbers of people living here who have at some point possessed pot: If you get a citation under the new law, send us a picture of the citation and tell us your story, and if you're one of the first five people we hear from at potfine@washingtoncitypaper.com, we'll pay your $25 fine.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT